The territory table view shows all the sales territories that you have created in an easy to understand and use table view. In this table all the data is summed up to the territory level. You can also edit the territory ID/Name, assign/reassign sales reps, and assign/reassign the sales territories to districts (first level of hierarchy).
The same type of table view can be opened at the district and region level if you are an AlignMix Pro user. If you are using the AlignMix Pro trial, you will also be able to view the three tables. AlignMix standard users (free version) are not able to create hierarchies and therefore cannot open district and region tables.
To open a territory table view you first need to open AlignMix. If your file does not have any sales territories imported or created, then your territory table will be blank. Next, click the plus button next to the territory alignment tab. This will open up a new tab.
Now click on tables on the left side of the new window and select territory table. The territory table will appear on your screen. This same process is used if you are a Pro user and want to view a district or region table.
On the far left of the territory table you will see a checkbox next to every sales territory. You can select one or multiple sales territories by clicking the check box. You can then click the delete button to delete the territories that have been checked.
You can also delete sales territories from the territory map view by right clicking on a sales territory to open the radial tool. Then simply click the delete button. If you have deleted the sales territories by accident you can undo this action by clicking the undo arrow that is found in the top left on the AlignMix software near save icon.
Next to the check-boxes you will see a color box. This box shows you the color of the sales territory from the first tab. Double clicking on the color box will open a new window that allows you to change the color of the selected sales territory.
You can also change the color of a sales territory by using the radial tool, territory properties, or by using the radial tool that is found on the home menu.
Next to the color boxes you will see the territory ID and territory name for every sales territory. Double click on the ID and or the name and you will be able to change the text. You can also rename the sales territories from the territory properties that you can access from the first tab by right clicking on a sales territory and then clicking on properties.
The next column of data will show the sales rep that is currently assigned to each sales territory. If this area is blank that means that you do not have any sales reps currently assigned to these sales territories. Double click on the field where the name appears, and you will see a drop-down appear showing the name of every sales rep that is currently in this file.
You cannot create new sales reps from the territory table view. You can only create new reps from the territory properties or the edit sales reps’ options.
Next to the assigned sales rep you will see the assigned district. By default, the Pro version will assign sales territories to districts, and districts to regions. This can be changed in the AlignMix options.
Double click on the assigned district and a drop-down menu will appear showing the name of every district that is in this AlignMix file. If no districts appear in the drop down that means you have not created any districts. To create a district, you will need to do that in the territory view tab or in the district map tab.
The next two columns are check-boxes. Visible and locked. When visible is checked that means that the sales territory is visible in the first tab where you have your map created.
If it is not checked that means that the sales territory is hidden. It has not been deleted; it is only hidden from view. The locked section when checked means that the sales territory is locked and cannot be modified.
If it is not checked that means that you can make changes to the sales territory.
The contiguous section will show either a yes or a no. Ideally all territories should be contiguous. This means that there are no satellite areas of the sales territory that are not touching the main land mass of the sales territory.
Not all sales territories will show up as fully contiguous because of islands that exist. If it says “No” that means that the territory is non-contiguous. You can then double click the No and the software will flip to the first tab and zoom into that area that is non-contiguous.
You can then use the touch align tool or lasso tool to fix the area.
Moving towards the right side of the territory table you will see a total count of all the zip codes and accounts that are assigned to each sales territory. Moving to the far right you will see every data set summed up to the territory level.
The override section has to columns. Gains and losses. A gain means that the territory has an account assigned to it that is not geographically located within that territory and a loss is the opposite.
A loss is when there is an account in a territory that is not assigned to that territory.
At the top next to the delete button you have two more buttons. The edit columns button and export button. The edit column option allows you to remove columns from the territory table view. The export button will export this table to Microsoft Excel.
This same type of export can be performed by using the Export to Excel Export.